Skip to content

a weekend in food

February 7, 2011

Anyone who knows me knows that I am a huge fan of Joanne Chang and Flour Bakery. J got me the new (fabulous!) cookbook for Christmas, and last week I finally had time to try a recipe! Here’s a snap shot of my first attempt at the chocolate chip cookies. All I had on hand for chocolate was toll house chips, but they seemed to work okay. I considered posting the recipe here, but I’m going to encourage you to go pick up the cookbook instead. Or at least drop by Flour and try some of the real deal. If you’re a Bostonian and you haven’t been yet … well … where have you been?

Friday night we went with a few friends to Red Bones in Davis Square. Let me tell you, it was well worth the 2 hour wait (and they don’t take reservations, so plan ahead!) If you haven’t been yet, I should warn you that eating at Red Bones is an experience. The tables are packed together, it’s loud and very bright. But really, who eats BBQ in leather banquettes and mood lighting? Aside from the heaping mounds of BBQ you’re sure to order, you’ve got to try the fried pickles. Healthy? no. Delicious? yes.

The portions are giant, so I would reccomend splitting an entree. We all did, and we were still stuffed!

Saturday I finally had a chance to stop by the Somerville Winter Farmers market. I had never been to a farmer’s market in the winter, so I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect … but I loved it! We didn’t get to stay for long, but will defintely be back. I picked up some anadama bread and a cider donut (YUM!) from Great Cape Baking Company and a few green peppers from Enterprise Farm. If you’re in the Davis Square area it’s well worth the trip over to the Armory. If you can leave your car at home, definitely do – parking was a bit of a pain. The market is open 10 to 2pm on Saturdays, and is located at 191 Highland Ave in Somerville.

And then there was the superbowl! Two kinds of chili, corn bread, chips, guacamole, chocolate chip cookies … I wish I had pictures but we ate it all too fast!

How was your weekend? Any food adventures or great new recipes?

No comments yet

Leave a comment