Skip to content

a word about lasagna

January 23, 2011

I made a lasagna realization last week:

A great lasagna doesn’t have to be smothered in ricotta.

Forgive me Italian chefs everywhere, but for those of us who can’t stomach the dairy, this is a life changing realization. I was really missing one of my favorite comfort foods! I hadn’t bothered to try it before because I assumed that the end result would be dry crunchy noodles layered in a casserole dish. A little extra sauce and a generous sprinkling of parmesan later though, and I’ve never been so happy to admit I was wrong. Aged cheeses seem to agree with me just fine, so parmesan was a great solution. If you can’t take that, then experiment with your favorite dairy free cheese. You’ll be glad you did!

Dairy free and delicious: ground chicken, zucchini, and summer squash lasagna topped with Cabot's (dairy free)50% Reduced Fat Mozzarella Cheese

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

