Skip to content

blogger inspiration

February 2, 2011

I am always collecting recipes, and I’m infamous for making something that we both love and then promptly misplacing the recipe. This the little trick I picked up from Fun and Fearless in Beantown, though, is one that I’m sure I’ll hang onto:

One of my favorite go-to dinners is ground turkey burgers – they’re easy and quick! And while a lean turkey burger is a healthier option than a beef burger, it never hurts to squeeze in an extra vegetable. I think Michelle’s suggestion is brilliant – why not dice up some zucchini and fold it into the meat before forming the patties?

The taste didn’t change at all, the texture was similar, but you’ve got an extra vegetable in there before you even start in on your side salad.

And if you play by my rules, committing to an extra vegetable means you’ve earned little extra dessert, too: )

enjoy!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Crystal permalink
    February 2, 2011 4:23 pm

    One thing I like to do is add a little mushroom in onion. Again, more vegetables- but like the zucchini, mushrooms hold moisture making for a nice juicy turkey burger!

    • February 2, 2011 4:46 pm

      oh, Crystal that is a great idea!! If only I could get J to eat mushrooms ; ) I’ll have to try it in mine next time though! Have you tried diced apple? Topped with cranberry sauce it’s like Thanksgiving in a burger ; )

  2. February 2, 2011 4:41 pm

    I love that my blog post inspired you…and that the burger came out so tasty!

  3. preppypolkadots permalink
    February 11, 2011 11:49 pm

    I love to shred zucchini and put it in turkey burgers. It not only gives it a little extra flavor but makes the turkey burger moist which I like because sometimes I find ground turkey to be really dry.

    • February 15, 2011 9:48 pm

      Thanks for reading and commenting!! 🙂 It is definitely a great tip! For less dry ground turkey burgers, try to handle them as little as possible … just enough to push them into the shape you want. And whatever you do, don’t pack the meat firmly into a patty shape like you would with beef. Just gently form into a semi-circular shape, and get them right on the skillet!

Leave a comment