Skip to content

local tourist

December 30, 2010

One of the best things about having a few days off is the chance to play tourist in your own city! I rush back and forth on my commute every day, and work right in downtown Boston … but I never get to enjoy it!

Today J and I spent some time in Harvard Square. It’s only a mile from our apartment, but we just never make it over there. I’m starting my first grad class at Harvard in a few weeks, so I was anxious to pick up my books (…and let’s be honest, to do a little shopping! Side note: 40% off sale items at the Gap today – I got some steals!). As a Harvard student, I was eligible to join the Harvard coop, which is a great deal – $1 a year, and an 8.9% return on coop purchases.

When we were shopped out, we ducked into Crema Cafe for iced teas. I had never been there, but had always wanted to go. My friend Maura is always raving about it! I had the thai iced tea, and it was just perfect. I usually find them to be a little too bitter, but the barista sweetened it just the right amount.

It was packed this afternoon – everyone’s on vacation this week, I guess! I can definitely see coming here to work on a paper or read this semester though.

The atmosphere was great, and the baristas were friendly and helpful. I’ll always have a special place in my heart for Starbucks, but you just can’t top the quality or service at a local cafe. I’m looking forward to going back and trying a few of those pastries!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Maura permalink
    January 4, 2011 5:00 pm

    Wooohooo! SO glad you loved it as much as I do! Thanks for the shout out lady 😉 Let me know when you’re there. Study dates??

    • January 4, 2011 8:34 pm

      Oh gosh, I am a HUGE fan! We should definitely go sometime – a study date would be great!

Leave a Reply

